Kerrith Livengood’s works have been performed at ACO’s SONiC Festival, June in Buffalo, Bargemusic, CCM’s MusicX festivals, the North American Saxophone Alliance annual conference, the Atlantic Music Festival, the Contemporary Undercurrent of Song series, the Cortona Sessions, and Alia Musica Pittsburgh’s Conductors Festival. She has composed works for the JACK Quartet, Third Angle Ensemble, Duo Cortona, mezzo-soprano Jennifer Beattie and pianist Adam Marks, soprano Amy Petrongelli, and the h2 Quartet. Her works feature unexpected musical forms, complex grooves, lyricism, noise, and humor. Her string quartet This Is My Scary Robot Voice, performed by the Argus Quartet, features speech rhythms intoning an anxious inner monologue, which the New York Times described as “sketchy seeming.” Kerrith’s set of Four Jennifer L. Knox Songs including “Hot Ass Poem” for mezzo-soprano, flute, and piano features shouting, theatrical ogling, and pretty bird-like flute chirps. Currently, she is collaborating with poet Jennifer L. Knox on chamber opera centered on dialogues by starlings (the invasive and adaptive birds). Kerrith is also a flutist, drummer, and improviser. She has premiered many new works by young composers with members of the JACK Quartet, eighth blackbird and the American Modern Ensemble, and once played a wild duet in concert with Anthony Braxton. She is a native of Springfield, Missouri, and currently teaches music theory at the University of Illinois. Kerrith is also assistant director for the New Music On The Point Festival, an annual summer festival for young composers and performers.  

Learn more about Livengood's music...



Kinan Azmeh

Amy Brandon

Eliza Brown

Christopher Cerrone

Laura Harrison

Ellen Ruth Harrison

Mara Helmuth

Sarah Hennies

Jeff Herriott

Sarah Kirkland Snider

Amy Beth Kirsten

Klaus Lang

Liza Lim

Alex Mincek

Emma O'Halloran

Pauline Oliveros

Joan Arnau Pàmies

Michael Pisaro

Shulamit Ran

Kaija Saariaho

Annika Socolofsky

Ben Taylor

Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Aaron Travers

Joel Versavaud

Amy Williams

Yfat Soul Zisso

© 2020 by Music in Bloom Festival